BARTLETT PARK DISTRICT ANNUAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, MAY 9, 2023

Call to Order

President Palmer called the Annual Board Meeting to order at 7:15 pm.

Roll Call

President Palmer called for the roll. Commissioners answering present were: Lori A. Palmer, Diana Gunsteen, Theodore J. Lewis, Stephen M. Eckelberry, Susan M. Stocks, Dale Ann Kasuba, and Jody Fagan.

Staff members present were Executive Director Rita Fletcher, Superintendent of Recreation Kimberly Dasbach, Superintendent of Parks and Planning Kelly O'Brien, Superintendent of Business Services Eric Leninger, Superintendent of Special Facilities Katie Mix, Superintendent of Villa Olivia Bobby Pierobon, and Executive Assistant Maureen Regan.

Public Comments

No comments.

Swearing In of Newly Elected Commissioners

Susan Stocks and Diana Gunsteen were individually sworn in by President Lori Palmer.

Election of Officers

President

President Palmer noted that it is the Board's annual duty to elect new officers at the Annual Meeting.

Ms. Palmer asked for nominations for the office of President of the Board of Commissioners for the fiscal year 2023-2024.

Mr. Eckelberry moved to nominate Ms. Gunsteen for President, seconded by Mr. Lewis.

Mr. Lewis moved to close the nominations, seconded by Mr. Eckelberry.

Mr. Eckelberry motioned to cast a unanimous ballet to elect Ms. Gunsteen as President, seconded by Mr. Lewis. **Motion carried.**

Ms. Gunsteen is elected to the office of President of the Board of Commissioners for the Bartlett Park District.

Vice President

President Gunsteen opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice-President of the Board of Commissioners for fiscal year 2023-24.

Mr. Eckelberry moved to nominate Mr. Lewis for Vice-President, seconded by Ms. Palmer.

Mr. Eckelberry moved to close the nominations, seconded by Ms. Palmer.

Mr. Eckelberry motioned to cast a unanimous ballet to elect Mr. Lewis as Vice President, seconded by Mr. Stocks. **Motion carried.**

Mr. Lewis is elected to the office of Vice President.

Treasurer

Ms. Gunsteen opened the floor for nominations for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Commissioners for fiscal year 2023-24.

Mr. Lewis moved to nominate Mr. Eckelberry for Treasurer, seconded by Ms. Palmer.

Mr. Lewis moved to close the nominations, seconded by Ms. Palmer.

Ms. Palmer motioned to cast a unanimous ballet to elect Mr. Eckelberry as Treasurer, seconded by Ms. Stocks. **Motion carried.**

Mr. Eckelberry is elected to the office of Treasurer.

Secretary

Ms. Gunsteen opened the floor for nominations for the office of Secretary of the Board of Commissioners for fiscal year 2023-24.

Mr. Eckelberry moved to nominate Ms. Fletcher for Secretary, seconded by Mr. Ms. Palmer.

Mr. Lewis moved to close the nominations, seconded by Mr. Eckelberry.

Ms. Stocks motioned to cast a unanimous ballet to elect Ms. Fletcher as Secretary, seconded by Mr. Eckelberry. **Motion carried.**

Ms. Fletcher is elected to the office of Secretary.

Appointment of Attorney for the Park District

Corporate Attorney

Ms. Gunsteen stated next is the appointment of attorney for the Bartlett Park District and staff recommended that Mr. Steven Adams of Robbins Schwartz be appointed as the Park District's corporate attorney for fiscal year 2023-24.

Mr. Lewis moved to appoint Steven Adams of Robbins Schwartz as the Park District's corporate attorney for fiscal year 2023-24, seconded by Mr. Eckelberry. **Motion carried**.

Ordinance 23-08, 2023-24 Budget and Appropriation Ordinance

Ms. Gunsteen asked for a motion to approve Ordinance 23-08, 2023-24 Budget and Appropriation Ordinance.

Mr. Eckelberry moved to adopt Ordinance 23-08, 2023-24 Budget and Appropriation Ordinance of the Bartlett Park District for its fiscal year May 1, 2023 through April 30, 2024. Mr. Lewis seconded the motion. Ms. Gunsteen asked for a roll call vote.

ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: Gunsteen, Lewis, Eckelberry, Palmer, Stocks, Kasuba, Fagan NAYS: 0 ABSTAIN: 0 ABSENT: 0 **Passed and approved this 9th day of May 2023.**

Meeting Schedule for Fiscal Year 2023-24

Ms. Gunsteen noted that the Board had received the proposed schedule of meetings for fiscal year 2023-24. Mr. Eckelberry moved to approve the Board Meeting Schedule for fiscal year 2023-24 as presented, seconded by Ms. Kasuba. **Motion carried**.

Name Representative to NWSRA Board

Ms. Gunsteen announced that each year the District names a representative to serve on the NWSRA Board and recommends Executive Director, Rita Fletcher. Mr. Eckelberry made a motion to approve the nomination of Ms. Fletcher, seconded by Mr. Lewis. Motion carried and Ms. Fletcher was named as the Bartlett Park District representative to the Northwest Special Recreation Association Board.

New Business

None

Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Eckelberry moved to adjourn the Annual Board Meeting, seconded by Mr. Lewis. Motion carried at 7:26 pm.

Minutes Approved by the Board on May 23, 2023.

By: <u>Rita Fletcher</u> Rita Fletcher, Board Secretary